Day # 11 – It may be winter but spring is comming!

Job 5-7
Matthew 4

The book of Job can be particularly troubling to study. We struggle with it because we innately desire things to be fair. We want to believe that good always befalls those who do good and trouble is the result of doing wrong. Job bluntly challenges that paradigm. When we drive past a crash on the highway we look and think to ourselves, “they must have been driving too fast” or “they were probably distracted”. When we hear of a shooting we think that it was probably a ‘drug deal gone bad’ or we look for other was to explain away or reconcile the tragedy. We want to feel that when bad things happen it is due to the fault of those involved. With Job nothing could be farther from the truth. A few of us can relate to Job because we have in many ways sipped from the same cup. We shutter when the doctor prefaces his remarks with, “I hate to have to tell you this but…”or “there are some things that are just beyond the scope of modern medicine”. Such was the case in my life a few decades ago when in one moment my life was forever changed. I had only been married a few years. We had one child and were expecting our second in two months. My wife and I were active in the church we attended and it seemed the blessing of God was like a sweet fragrance that completely enveloped our life. Suddenly the messengers began to arrive. As a result of an accident that damaged my spinal cord I was unable to work. Things changed rapidly and friendships begin to fade and disappear like the morning fog. It seemed, in those days, that God was far away. What few friends that remained were frustrated that I had not “received my healing” and were confident that I was being chastened by God because of un-confessed sin. They offered the same advise that Job’s comforter, Eliphaz, presented Job. While I would have never chose the valley that God had brought me to, I found that he never leaves us and he truly can provide a way when it seems that things are impossible. I still carry the effects of that accident but more importantly I know there truly is a Hope for the hopeless. Springtime does return, flowers again bloom, and the fragrance of His presence, enriched by the deep relationship forged in adversity, testify to His goodness, His wisdom and the perfection of His plan.

About Richard McGill

Hi, my name is Richard McGill and my family and I started attending CCC shortly after moving to the area eighteen years ago. Although eighteen years may sound like a long time it has past by so quickly. My wife, Sharon, and I have seen our four children grow and have twice experienced that bitter sweet day when we have loosened our grasp so that our children, could begin families of their own. Sharon and I have been more than rewarded for our sacrifices in that we again, on occasion, have in our home the squeals of laughter that only comes from innocence and youth. We revel in the titles that have been bestowed by sweet little voices and thrill to hear them say Papa and Memaw. In addition to our two married children we have two that are preparing for their future through education. Jenny is finishing her sophomore year at SIU and Alex will graduate from high school this spring. Throughout the past eighteen years I have been privileged to serve in several capacities at CCC. I have been a small group leader, greeter, usher, in the Easter production, on the worship team and have taught Sunday School. While I am honored to be asked to contribute to this most recent effort, I can’t help but wonder if they’re not still trying to find something that I am good at. View all posts by Richard McGill

2 responses to “Day # 11 – It may be winter but spring is comming!

  • drphilipnordstrom

    Way to bring it home Richard! I really enjoyed. Good writing!

  • mikj45

    as the old saw goes these things can make us or break us. When we don’t have the foundation of a strong Faith in God life’s happenings can destroy us. But it can also make us stop and think about how our life lines up with God’s will for our lives. We ride the waves of life in ignorant or innocent bliss and then comes the test. Do we falter and fail or do we look to God for our strength during times of trial? Those of faith know that God is carrying us through these trials. Without faith God is blamed and cursed.

Leave a Reply

