Day # 14: Life’s Trials

Today’s reading Job 14-16 & Matthew 10:1-20

So in accrodance to our reading for today, below are some quick trivia questions to spark your understanding of the passage. Enjoy, and good luck!!!

How does Job compare himself with a tree? (14:7-12)

What request does Job make of God again? (14:13)

What does Eliphaz think of Job’s attempts to justify himself? (15:2-3)

What does Eliphaz ask of Job wile rebuking him? (15:9)

What is meant by the term “drinks iniquity like water”? (15:16)

How does Eliphaz describe his belief of why people suffer? (15:17-35)

As Job responds to Eliphaz, how does he describe his three friends? (16:2)

What does Job say he would do if they were in his place? (16:4-5)

How does Job feel God has treated him? (16:7-14)

What does Job cry out for? (16:21)

Today’s reflection looks at Job and his perspective of what has just transpired in his life. We observe Job as he endures the criticism and judgment cast by his friends. I must say, as I read the passages for today, I was challenged to remember times when I’ve questioned if I was in God’s will. Life’s trials left me feeling like God changed his mind about me and opted to bail out on me. I can remember when I called a fellow Christian, and was told that my situation was the result of some type of sinful act-that I was reaping what I’d sown. You know, If we take a moment and remember, God asked Satan “have you considered Job”? God called Job righteous. He was a worshiper – the bible tells us that he worshiped and gave burnt offerings, for himself and his children. Yet we find him in a bad predicament. Causing me to ask the following questions: Will you help by sharing your opinion?

1. Why is it difficult to accept that some trials are sent by God?

2. Does questioning God in the midst of my trials make me less of a Christian?

About tkcblogger

I Love Serving The Risen Savior! I enjoy teaching. I love spending time with my Wife & Daughters. View all posts by tkcblogger

6 responses to “Day # 14: Life’s Trials

  • darrenfink

    For the first question I think that we have a hard time accepting the full personality of God. I’m good with God feeling mercy for me and loving me but I don’t want to think that he burns with anger when disobeying. I don’t want to think that God may allow trials to come my way. Is it different from when I do it to my children though? I mean I allow situations to occur to my kids in my presence so that I can see how they will handle the situation. They feel alone because I’m not helping them but I’m still watching them. If anything were to go wrong or start to get out of control, I’d intervene. It’s a learning process. They probably hate it but they learn through the situation. That’s my two cents – hope some others put their input in too.

  • mikj45

    Job cries out to God first in anger then rebuke. He does the same thing with his three “friends/comforters”. This is our natural response to God and people when things go wrong in our lives. We want to blast out at God and anybody we can to ease our own pain and suffering. Sometimes our rreward is silence from God and guilt trips from our friends. You’ve got sin in your life, you haven’t prayed enough. You need deliverence from Demons. None of these eases your pain, anger or whatever stage your in your trial. Eventually after we come through and sometimes while we are still in the throws of our trial we see reason and peace and joy in the end. We get bogged down in life and it’s challenges and feel that we can’t get out from under the blanket of doubt, anger, frustration, but we know in the end that God is still there biding His time to see how we handle and come through these trials.

  • mikj45

    We seem to be focusing on Job and his trials and not on what Jesus is saying to us. Be satisfied with what we have in life. If we are rejected for our Faith be encouraged not frustrated. Jesus was rejected in His own hometown. Accept what is offered to us whether much or little. When we are rejected move on without grumbling . I know this goes against the grain of our human nature, nobody likes to be rejected. Our flesh is easy to be wounded or hurt. We wear our feelings on our sleeve and let the least little thing shake us up and we respond in anger. Our expectations of people never measure up to what we think they should be and then we are disappointed. Sometimes we are disappointed in God because He didn’t deliver like we thought He would. Do we respond in anger, yes sad to say we do. I remember the first time I was told that I was mad at God. I was in total shock, that can’t be we can’t be mad at God, but yes we do get mad at God and God knows our hearts and forgives. Let us put on the full armor of God so that these pitfalls do not destroy us, but make us stronger.

  • Bob Heren

    Here’s something I’ve been thinking about recently, in relation to trials that we go through. I feel like I’m in somewhat of a trial right now, and my first thought is to try to figure out if I’m being punished for something. Of course, I know that’s a possible cause of a trial, but as I’ve done some soul-searching and honest introspection I don’t feel I’ve done anything warranting this trial. Obviously I have plenty of sins and failings, but God hasn’t told me of anything that’s caused this current trial.
    As I considered this, I compared what I would do as a father: would I ever punish my kids without making it clear to them what they’re being punished for? What a horrible father would I be if I did that? Thinking about it that way, there’s no way I can think God would be that kind of father, is there? Certainly, sometimes trials are punishments from God: but for each instance of that, I think God would make it clear (maybe through others, maybe through a Word from Him, maybe through a Bible verse, etc.). If I haven’t been given anything like that, isn’t it safe to assume that this isn’t a punishment?
    In the OT, when the Israelites were punished by some disaster, wasn’t there always a prophet telling them why they were being punished?

  • drphilipnordstrom

    Great devotion. These would make good small group discussions.

Leave a Reply

