Day 18 – What are you sculpting?

Today’s reading: Job 25-27, Matthew 12:24-50

Several years ago an acquaintance of mine was working on a utility construction project between Jersey City and Manhattan. They used a helicopter to transport materials and workers as needed and often flew close to the Statue of Liberty. One thing that he found remarkable was the amount of detail that the sculptor had crafted into the top of the head and crown. When the work on the statue commenced in 1876 there is no way that sculptor Frederic Auguste Bartholdi and engineer Alexandre Gustave Eiffel could have foreseen that people would one day be able to fly over the statue and appreciate the craftsmanship that could never be seen from the ground. So why did the do it? Most likely because Bartholdi knew he was a sculptor at heart. Although the public may not ever be aware that a shortcut had been taken, Bartholdi would know. As Jesus taught in Matthew 12:33 “Make a tree good and its fruit will be good, or make a tree bad and its fruit will be bad, for a tree is recognized by its fruit.” Bartholdi recognized that the Statue of Liberty would be his legacy, his fruit. She would stand for generations as a silent witness to his skill. No compromise would be acceptable. Jesus went on to teach in Matthew 12:34, “For out of the overflow of the heart the mouth speaks.” Such is the case with our friend Job. Job was confident of his relationship with God. From his prospective, Job may not have understood the “why” in all of this but he was not going to allow his friends to persuade him of something he knew was not true. I love the way Job proclaims it to Bildad.
Job 27:3-6, “as long as I have life within me, the breath of God in my nostrils, my lips will not speak wickedness, and my tongue will utter no deceit. I will never admit you are in the right; till I die I will not deny my integrity. I will maintain my righteousness and never let go of it: my conscience will not reproach me as long as I live.”
Job probably didn’t know what he was sculpting here. He could not have known that thousands of years later we would be looking in on his legacy and marveling at his commitment to detail. So as you go on about living today I hope you will consider those things you are sculpting, and the fruits that will remain to define who you were.

About Richard McGill

Hi, my name is Richard McGill and my family and I started attending CCC shortly after moving to the area eighteen years ago. Although eighteen years may sound like a long time it has past by so quickly. My wife, Sharon, and I have seen our four children grow and have twice experienced that bitter sweet day when we have loosened our grasp so that our children, could begin families of their own. Sharon and I have been more than rewarded for our sacrifices in that we again, on occasion, have in our home the squeals of laughter that only comes from innocence and youth. We revel in the titles that have been bestowed by sweet little voices and thrill to hear them say Papa and Memaw. In addition to our two married children we have two that are preparing for their future through education. Jenny is finishing her sophomore year at SIU and Alex will graduate from high school this spring. Throughout the past eighteen years I have been privileged to serve in several capacities at CCC. I have been a small group leader, greeter, usher, in the Easter production, on the worship team and have taught Sunday School. While I am honored to be asked to contribute to this most recent effort, I can’t help but wonder if they’re not still trying to find something that I am good at. View all posts by Richard McGill

3 responses to “Day 18 – What are you sculpting?

  • drphilipnordstrom

    Wow Richard. I think we finally found something you can do well at the church :). I thought the image of attention to detail where nobody can see is a great image to think about today. One definition of character is who you are when nobody is looking. Thanks for the invitiation to walk our talk and pay attention to detail even when no other human can see us. Nothing, however, escapes God’s eyes. Two thumbs way up on your article. I loved it.

  • drphilipnordstrom

    And just for the record, the reason you have served in so many capacities is because you do so many things well. Love you friend.

  • John Nordstrom

    Good job Richard. I love the statue analogy.

Leave a Reply

