Day 39 Moses Supposes Erroneously

Today’s reading: Exodus 4-6 Matthew 24:29-51

It was just one of those days. You know the type. Days when nothing seems to be going right. There was a slow cold drizzling rain. Things were difficult at work and I was late for supper again. Sharon had kept my food warm and tried to visit with me as I sat there at the table tired and discouraged. “You need to get out and do something different something just for fun, something to get your mind off your work.” she said. “There is an auction tonight maybe you’ll find a bargain or maybe you find a stereo for your office.” So in a few minutes I found myself at the auction surrounded by piles of stuff I would never bid on and wondering why I had ever let her talk me into going there. As I was walking through the cold rain back to my truck I noticed a young couple distressing over an old pickup that wouldn’t start. I heard the young man say, “I don’t know what were going to do, tomorrow is my first day and I can’t call in the very first day.” “Isn’t their anyone we can call or something we can do?” she asked her husband. She sat in the cab as he stood there in the rain, leaning against the truck with his head resting on his arms. “I just spent most of our savings trying to make this truck reliable enough to drive to work, we don’t have enough left to pay for a tow truck let alone pay for any more repairs. Its late our folks are in bed and I don’t know what they could do to help anyway.” he answered. I knew that the Lord was letting me see this so I would intervene, but it was raining, I was cold, I had on my new shirt and besides I was fighting my own discouragement so I walked by as if I had heard nothing. I had not made it ten feet till I felt the full convicting power of the Lord. I hurried to my truck got a flashlight and came back with an offer of help. “Are you a mechanic?” he asked. “No, but I’ve had more that my fair share of temperamental vehicles and it won’t hurt to let me take a look.” I offered. He consented and went on to tell me he had just picked the truck up from his mechanic that afternoon and he had spent several hundred dollars to “Fix it up for the commute.” He told me how much this new job meant to his family. As I directed the beam of the flashlight across the engine I could see he was not exaggerating. The oily landscape was punctuated by the reflection of lots of new parts. There were new hoses of all types, new belts, new spark plug wires and a new distributor cap. As he was talking I noticed that there in the center of the distributor cap the wire from the ignition coil seemed to be setting slightly too high. Could that be it? I reached under the hood with one hand, taking care not to drag my sleeve, grasped the coil wire between two fingers, gently pressed down and felt the connector snap into place. I stood up and looked at the young fellow with a great deal of confidence and said, “Let’s try it now.” He looked at me with an expression of confusion and after some hesitation told his wife to, “Give it a try.” “Why, what did he do?” she asked. “Nothing, just humor him and give it a try” was his reply. As soon as she bumped the starter the engine sprang instantly to life. He took a few steps back and stared in unbelief. She jumped out of the cab hugged her husband with excitement and asked repeatedly, “What did he do … what did he do?” “Nothing, he just touched it!” came the reply. She noticed the bewilderment in his expression and asked very soberly, “What do you mean, ‘he just touched it?’” “Just that, he laid his hand on the motor and said ‘give it a try.’” It looked as if the blood had drained from both their faces. “Do you think he’s an ….?” her voice trailing as she asked the question. “I don’t know. I guess he could be. I mean he just touched it!” his voice trembling with his response.
Well needless to say I was not then nor am I now an angel. I do want to live a live yielded to the Lords direction. I drove home that night laughing praising God and eager to tell my wife what had happened and yes it is a true story.

In our reading we have Moses preserved from the Nile with a purpose, prepared under the tutelage of Pharaoh, proven on the back side of the desert and here in preferred to the task for which God had raised him up, saying send someone else. Moses, although he had witnessed miraculous signs and had even been given the power to do miraculous signs, could not see beyond his own shortcomings. How true it is for us as well. I’m too busy, or too tired, or I’m not good enough so often becomes our mantra.
We should be cognizant of our weaknesses but never defined by them. In 2Corinthians 12:9 we read “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Moses, it is not about you. It is not even about what you can or cannot do but rater about what He can do through you when you are yielded to His leading. The accomplishments gained from Egypt and the experiences of Midian are nothing compared to what God has planned. Likewise, what God has planned for us far exceeds all we have experienced. So remember Philippians 4:13 “I can do everything through Him that gives me strength.” and hold on tight it’s going to get exciting around here.

About Richard McGill

Hi, my name is Richard McGill and my family and I started attending CCC shortly after moving to the area eighteen years ago. Although eighteen years may sound like a long time it has past by so quickly. My wife, Sharon, and I have seen our four children grow and have twice experienced that bitter sweet day when we have loosened our grasp so that our children, could begin families of their own. Sharon and I have been more than rewarded for our sacrifices in that we again, on occasion, have in our home the squeals of laughter that only comes from innocence and youth. We revel in the titles that have been bestowed by sweet little voices and thrill to hear them say Papa and Memaw. In addition to our two married children we have two that are preparing for their future through education. Jenny is finishing her sophomore year at SIU and Alex will graduate from high school this spring. Throughout the past eighteen years I have been privileged to serve in several capacities at CCC. I have been a small group leader, greeter, usher, in the Easter production, on the worship team and have taught Sunday School. While I am honored to be asked to contribute to this most recent effort, I can’t help but wonder if they’re not still trying to find something that I am good at. View all posts by Richard McGill

3 responses to “Day 39 Moses Supposes Erroneously

Leave a Reply

