Day # 77: Prove Yourself

Today’s Reading

Numbers 20-22 & Mark 15:26-47

The 20th chapter of Numbers begins with one of the most memorable complaints of the children of Isreal. Why did you bring us out here to die? “No water, no grain, no visible hope for survival” was the words use to taunt Moses and Aaron. As I read the 21st chapter of Numbers around the fifth verse, the children of Isreal started complaining about food and drink again. This demand they put on Moses and God would result in deadly consequences.

In response to their complaining God made a choice to send poisonous snakes that attacked and killed many of the Israelites. As soon as the the children cried out for God to remove his wrath, God provides a plan of redemption.

I thought it was amazing how a people could see the hand of God work on their behalf and still complain. I am glad to know God’s love provides a way of escape even when we make unfair demands and acts of doubt.

When I transitioned to our New Testament text, I fell in love with Jesus all over again.

I thank God that Jesus is not like many of us. I can remember a time when I had the opportunity to show how strong I was without saying a word. But my flesh wanted to prove something to those whose attention was captivated by my presence. After it was all said and done, I asked myself what did I prove? I am now convinced that I should have taken the higher road, and resisted the peer pressure around me.

As I think about the choices Jesus had in that moment, I thank God that he stayed committed to the His plan of redemption.

What would have happened if He would have met the desires of those who mocked him?

We would be still responsible for offering blood sacrifices for ours sin.

By which will we have been sanctified through the offering of the body of Jesus Christ once for all. (Hebrews 10:7-10 ASV)

If Jesus gave in to his flesh, there would be no hope for mankind.

This High Priest of ours understands our weaknesses, for he faced all of the same testings we do, yet he did not sin. (Hebrews 4:15 NLT)

The law would not be fulfilled and God’s word would return to Him void!

“Don’t suppose for a minute that I have come to demolish the Scriptures-either God’s Law or the Prophets. I’m not here to demolish but to complete. I am going to put it all together, pull it all together in a vast panorama. (Matthew 5:17 MSG)

Today’s Takeaways:

  1. How many times does God have to prove himself to satisfy our fleshly desires?
  2. We should pray and ask for direction before we make choices that could ultimately impact the rest of our life.
  3. We need to be cautious of what we require of others. It is so important that we cover others in prayer instead of pressuring them to make choices.
  4. When we ask God to prove himself, is it an act of faith or an act of doubt?

Stay Blessed!!!!

The TKCBLOGGER

About tkcblogger

I Love Serving The Risen Savior! I enjoy teaching. I love spending time with my Wife & Daughters. View all posts by tkcblogger

Leave a Reply

