Cherish

Friday
Luke 19:41 As he approached Jerusalem and saw the city, he wept over it 42 and said, “If you, even you, had only known on this day what would bring you peace—but now it is hidden from your eyes. 43 The days will come upon you when your enemies will build an embankment against you and encircle you and hem you in on every side. 44 They will dash you to the ground, you and the children within your walls.   They will not leave one stone on another,   because you did not recognize the time of God’s coming   to you.”
Jesus is beginning his final week in Luke 19.  He weeps over the city of Jerusalem because they didn’t recognize the time of God’s coming to them.  My congregation has heard me preach on this passage on several occasions.  There are two words for time in greek.  One is “chronos”  which means the ordinary passage of time.  The other is “kairos” which is a special time of God’s visitation.  Another way of saying it is that chronos is ordinary time, but kairos is extraordinary time.  Jerusalem was condemned and ultimately destroyed by the Romans in A.D. 70 because they missed their speical time of God’s visitation.
From the time of Jesus coming to this earth until he returns again we are living in a very special “kairos” moment.  Jesus calls it “the year of the Lord’s favor.”  It means that God is not mad at us.  His grace has been poured out on us with the gift of His son Christ Jesus.  Because of the continued presence of Jesus on earth through the Holy Spirit we are living in the best time in human history.  God’s grace and mercy are being freely given to us.  Jerusalem, however, missed it.  They didn’t cherish their time.
As many of you know, a few weeks ago I accepted the call to pastor a church in Knoxville Tennessee.  Something amazing happened from the moment I knew.  I started cherishing things that I had taken for granted.  Time with my friends has become so much more precious.  I find myself wanting to visit with my parents more often because I had so often passed them by because they were just three houses away and I could always see them.  Barbecue nachos from 17th St. Barbecue are always wonderful, but now I relish them with the thought I will not taste them much longer.  I had the most wonderful home group in my memory on Wednesday night, because I was so cherishing each of the group members and our time together.
This whole experience reminds me to cherish the incredible moment in time in which we find ourselves.  This is not only the era of high gas prices and a troubling global economy, this is the day of God’s grace.  Each of us have the opportunity to boldly approach the throne of grace and cry “abba” (daddy) father.
Today let’s spend less time complaining about the world situation or issues in our personal life, let’s cherish this moment.   The God of the universe came down to our level and invites us to be his children.  He has surrounded us with brothers and sisters in Christ.  He has been better to us than we deserve.  Cherish it!
About drphilipnordstrom

I am the Lead Pastor of Bethesda Christian Fellowship which is a dynamic growing congregation in Knoxville, Tennessee. I have an amazing wife, Melanie, two daughters, Natalie, and Kristiana, and a son, Noah. Nordstroms are passionate world changing Christ followers. We are educated with a Christian world view. We make godly decisions regarding friendships and marriage. We seek God's guidance for our life work and ministry. View all posts by drphilipnordstrom

One response to “Cherish

  • mikj45

    Good thoughts. I know I have missed a lot of these moments in my life because I was too busy. As I look back I can see I could have made the time or I wasn’t as busy as I thought I was. I cherish the moments I had,but am sometimes sad that I missed some of the most precious moments.

Leave a Reply

