Perspective of the Beloved

Today’s reading:
2 Samuel 3-5
John 1:1-28

The first chapter of the book of John has always been one of my favorite text. The way that John opens his introduction of Jesus is almost poetic. The Gospels of Matthew, Mark and Luke were each written by dedicated disciples that truly loved Jesus. But John was the beloved. He was the one who reclined with his head on Jesus’s breast. His perspective reflects his close personal love for the Savior. While I am writing this I’m attending a technical conference and have just returned from having supper with a group of men all of which know my oldest son. Each one told me how much they respected him and how they enjoyed interacting with him on various projects. As a father it is profoundly rewarding to hear others compliment your child on their character and accomplishments. While they may know him as an engineer, I will always know him as my son. While they have a ‘head’ knowledge of my son, I have a ‘heart’ knowledge that runs much deeper. They are familiar with his technical abilities but I am the one who was there the night he was born, I am the one who took him fishing the first time, I’m the one who helped him get his first car, I was there the day he got married and I was there for the birth of his children. While his colleagues may think they know him – my heart tells me I know him better. As John pens this Gospel his love for Jesus and his intimate knowledge of our Lord is palpable.

John introduces Jesus as the Word (Logos in the Greek) because the Son of God was sent to communicate his Father’s love to a dark world. His existence at the beginning, coexistence with the Father and the fact that all things were created by him prove that He is God. He alone was fully qualified for the work of salvation. He who is infinite became an infant that he might dwell among us for a season. Although he took upon himself the nature of mankind, the veil of flesh could not contain the radiance of his grace and glory. Nothing better tells of the dark and desperate state of this world than the fact that when the light had come to dwell among us there needed to be a witness (John the Baptist) to call attention to it.

It is my prayer that as you read through John’s Gospel that you will see Jesus from John’s perspective. That you will take away knowledge rooted deeply in the heart and that you may feel the passion of the one who was called “the beloved.”

About Richard McGill

Hi, my name is Richard McGill and my family and I started attending CCC shortly after moving to the area eighteen years ago. Although eighteen years may sound like a long time it has past by so quickly. My wife, Sharon, and I have seen our four children grow and have twice experienced that bitter sweet day when we have loosened our grasp so that our children, could begin families of their own. Sharon and I have been more than rewarded for our sacrifices in that we again, on occasion, have in our home the squeals of laughter that only comes from innocence and youth. We revel in the titles that have been bestowed by sweet little voices and thrill to hear them say Papa and Memaw. In addition to our two married children we have two that are preparing for their future through education. Jenny is finishing her sophomore year at SIU and Alex will graduate from high school this spring. Throughout the past eighteen years I have been privileged to serve in several capacities at CCC. I have been a small group leader, greeter, usher, in the Easter production, on the worship team and have taught Sunday School. While I am honored to be asked to contribute to this most recent effort, I can’t help but wonder if they’re not still trying to find something that I am good at. View all posts by Richard McGill

One response to “Perspective of the Beloved

Leave a Reply

