He Still Turns Water Into Wine

Friday
     I was very glad to see that John chapter 2 was assigned to me.  It is one of my favorite Jesus stories.  I recently traveled to Cana and visited a church supposedly build over the sight where this first  miracle of Jesus took place.  As you might imagine, it is a very popular wedding church.  And of course, the vendors outside are still selling wine that comes from Cana.  The gospel of John is sometimes called the Book of Signs because there are seven signs in the gospel that all point to something greater.  This is the first sign story in John.  Because it is a sign we need to realize that there is more going on that a wedding reception gone bad.  We are given a hint of the significance of the event by the opening words of John 2, “on the third day”.  This detail adds nothing to the story.  The significance of the third day is that in symbolic Biblical numerology, the third day is always a day of God’s fulfillment.  This story actually foretells the third day resurrection.
    If you can imagine with me, this is not just a wedding that’s lost its steam.  It symbolizes anything that seems to have lost its joy (wine).  It could be a job that has become tedious or a marriage that has grown stale or a church that has lost its vitality.
     Mary gives one of the best pieces of advice in history.  “Whatever he tells you to do, do it.”  I have been taking that advice throughout my walk with the Lord and it has caused me to do some things that were sometimes painful, but always for my good.  I’m not one who talks freely about the Lord talking to me, but throughout the years there have been a few whispers that have directed my life.  Here are a few of whispers that have revolutionized my life.  “Go to Wheaton College.”  That decision equipped me for future ministry.  “Marry that woman” This whisper about Melanie linked me with the woman who would be my partner in ministry and mother our children with excellence.  “Leave your denomination.”  This whisper was the most painful, but it placed me into my calling as a bridge builder in the body of Christ.  “Go to Murphysboro.”  This whisper made no sense in the pattern of our lives up until then, but we ended up seeing miracles, signs, and wonders, that continue to this day and brought us immense joy.  “Keep the school open”.  When we came to Murphysboro, it was recommended that we close the school because it was very small and a drain on our budget.  Keeping it open led to the salvation of many souls and a top flight education being given to scores of young people including my own grateful children.  “Go out onto the highway and find some property with a roll to it.”  That decision led to the building of one of the most beautiful houses of worship that I know of.  Recently I received another whisper,  “Go to Knoxville.”  Once again, this doesn’t make sense from a human perspective, but I am going with the confidence that every whisper of Jesus has led to water being changed to wine.
   My encouragement to you this day is that if your life has grown stale, Jesus is in the room.  Whatever he tells you to do, do it and the rut you are in can be broken.  Your best days can still be ahead of you.   Jesus saves the best wine til last.
About drphilipnordstrom

I am the Lead Pastor of Bethesda Christian Fellowship which is a dynamic growing congregation in Knoxville, Tennessee. I have an amazing wife, Melanie, two daughters, Natalie, and Kristiana, and a son, Noah. Nordstroms are passionate world changing Christ followers. We are educated with a Christian world view. We make godly decisions regarding friendships and marriage. We seek God's guidance for our life work and ministry. View all posts by drphilipnordstrom

2 responses to “He Still Turns Water Into Wine

  • mikj45

    I too have experienced some of these whispers from God. In 1976 I quit a well paying job with good benefits. I felt confident that God would meet all our needs I had two young sons and a mortgage. The day I quit my job I felt so free. I moved my family to Murphysboro with no job and no house. I met a new friends Dianne and Pam Preston she put me in touch with someone that had a house for rent so we moved there our house in Sparta sold the next week and I got a job that same week. I had no fear that
    God would not meet all our needs and He did. The other whisper I had was to go to First Pentecostal Church. Once I knew this is where I was to go and be part of the congregation that I am still part if after al these yrs.God has blessed me and met all my needs and beyond. I have been on the jouney with First PENTECOSTAL now Christ Community Church for many yrs and still know that listening to and obeying God way back then has been a great blessing to me and mine.

Leave a Reply

