“In My Heart There Rings a Melody”

Today’s text: Psalms 9-11    John 8:1-27

On my way home from work last night I stopped at a grocery store to pick up a few items for my wife. I was searching for the place they hide the vegetable oil when I heard a loud voice singing from the other side of the store. It was the voice of a small child. He didn’t know all the words of the song, could barely pronounce the words he did know and didn’t have a great deal of talent but what he lacked in ability he more than compensated for in enthusiasm and volume. I found myself standing there listening and remembering those days when my own kids sat in the cart and sang as their mother and I did the shopping. I noticed that a couple of older ladies had stopped to listen as well. I asked one of them, how long has it been since you sang like that? She said she stopped singing like that when she was about his age and that would have been about eighty three years ago. I told them that maybe we should sing like that again. Maybe we should just stop worrying about what others might think. Maybe we shouldn’t be concerned about not getting every note right and remembering every word exactly. Maybe we should just throw our heads back and turn loose that song that we’ve been carrying around in our hearts for all these years! They laughed and said if I would go first they would follow.

When I read the first verse of our text it made me think about that little boy. David open this Psalm with the words, “I will praise you, O Lord, with all my heart; I will tell of all your wonders.” I don’t get the impression that David had a quiet little thank you in mind. I believe that he desired to publicly celebrate and loudly proclaim God’s mercy and goodness. There was a psalm in his heart that he could contain no longer. The words of his proclamation of praise were penned thousands of years ago and yet it still reminds us of the goodness of God.

That little boy who was singing his heart out in the grocery store last night caused me to stop and think, it caused two ladies to laugh and reminisce and I hope that his song and the song of David ministers to you today as well.

About Richard McGill

Hi, my name is Richard McGill and my family and I started attending CCC shortly after moving to the area eighteen years ago. Although eighteen years may sound like a long time it has past by so quickly. My wife, Sharon, and I have seen our four children grow and have twice experienced that bitter sweet day when we have loosened our grasp so that our children, could begin families of their own. Sharon and I have been more than rewarded for our sacrifices in that we again, on occasion, have in our home the squeals of laughter that only comes from innocence and youth. We revel in the titles that have been bestowed by sweet little voices and thrill to hear them say Papa and Memaw. In addition to our two married children we have two that are preparing for their future through education. Jenny is finishing her sophomore year at SIU and Alex will graduate from high school this spring. Throughout the past eighteen years I have been privileged to serve in several capacities at CCC. I have been a small group leader, greeter, usher, in the Easter production, on the worship team and have taught Sunday School. While I am honored to be asked to contribute to this most recent effort, I can’t help but wonder if they’re not still trying to find something that I am good at. View all posts by Richard McGill

Leave a Reply

