No Needles Please

Today’s readings: Psalm 27-29 and John 11:1-29.

4 One thing I ask from the Lord,
this only do I seek:
that I may dwell in the house of the Lord
all the days of my life,
to gaze on the beauty of the Lord
and to seek him in his temple.
5 For in the day of trouble
he will keep me safe in his dwelling;
he will hide me in the shelter of his sacred tent
and set me high upon a rock.

Today I had to see my son get his physical completed for kindergarten. Being the extrovert he had the whole medical staff under his control by batting his eyelids. However his whole world came crashing down when he heard that he was going to have to have blood drawn and three shots administered to his legs. Now one must understand that my son was born with a condition that makes the probability of him getting an aggressive tumor very possible. Therefore, we have always had to get blood work performed for his health every three months. This little guy is no stranger to needles and every experience with the needles heightens their hateful relationship.
The nurses entered the examination room and my boy stood still on my lap (I think he was hoping that the nursing staff’s senses relied on motion detection and he might go unnoticed). After holding him down and wrenching his arm from his guarded covering, the medical staff were able to collect the blood. We also were able to hear the loudest blood curdling scream this side of the Rio Grande. The hysterics continued as we placed my poor child on a bed and quickly stuck him in both legs with three boosters.
Immediately following the trauma, I picked up my child ads he melted into my arms.
As I look upon Psalm 27 I think about how great and safe it is to be in the house of the Lord. There are those times that I am beyond scared and hysterical and I am so glad that I can melt in the arms of God.

About cccmurphysboro

Christ Community Church is a body of believers in Southern Illinois that is calling all people to experience God's power and walk in His holiness. View all posts by cccmurphysboro

Leave a Reply

