“Get Low”

Friday
Psalm 39

4 “Show me, Lord, my life’s end     and the number of my days;     let me know how fleeting   my life is. 5 You have made my days   a mere handbreadth;     the span of my years is as nothing before you. Everyone is but a breath,     even those who seem secure.[b]

6 “Surely everyone goes around  like a mere phantom;     in vain they rush about,  heaping up wealth     without knowing whose it will finally be.

7 “But now, Lord, what do I look for?     My hope is in you. 8 Save me  from all my transgressions;     do not make me the scorn  of fools.

“Get Low” is the title of a movie based on a real live event.  In 1938 an East Tennessee man named “Bush Breazeale” decided to have his own funeral while he was still alive.  He made no pretense that he was dead.  He had a casket built and sat by it as people came by.  He apparently wanted to make some things in his life right.  This passage of scripture encourages us to “Get Low” and visit our own funeral.

We are encouraged to contemplate the shortness of our lives and live accordingly.  Last Sunday was my last Sunday at Christ Community Church and I felt as if I were able to attend my own funeral.  Like real funerals, it was a bit skewed to the positive aspects of my life.  As I contemplate the end of my life it makes me look soberly at some things I want to change.  I still have character flaws that plague me from time to time and too often I live as if I have forever to go.  Last Sundays service was a reminder how short the 19 years I have spent at Christ Community Church really were.  I watched slides of my self at various sizes and shapes.  I saw myself with a bear and mustache, just a mustache, and clean-shaven.  I saw my children as babies and wondered where the time went.

This morning I’m taking a “time out” to get low and think about the end of my life.  We are invited in this Psalm to do three things.  1) Remember the shortness of your life.  It doesn’t take much contemplation to realize that surely this can’t be all that there is.  Help me live with eternity in mind.   2)  Don’t get caught up in the rat race for wealth.  The money grab distracts from the real purpose of life which is to prepare for eternity.  Finally, we are invited to ask to be saved from our transgressions.  Don’t let your mistakes, sins, and failures, be the defining moment of your life.

Today let’s get low and remember our death so that we can finally begin to live.

 

About drphilipnordstrom

I am the Lead Pastor of Bethesda Christian Fellowship which is a dynamic growing congregation in Knoxville, Tennessee. I have an amazing wife, Melanie, two daughters, Natalie, and Kristiana, and a son, Noah. Nordstroms are passionate world changing Christ followers. We are educated with a Christian world view. We make godly decisions regarding friendships and marriage. We seek God's guidance for our life work and ministry. View all posts by drphilipnordstrom

One response to ““Get Low”

Leave a Reply

