Resting In Him

Today’s Readings: Psalm 61-62, 65; John 13:21-38

As I write this, it’s been a long and tiring week, between working the Memorial Day holiday and the final preparations and actual hosting of a baby shower for a friend.  Plus the extreme heat in Arizona saps the energy out of a person.   I’d actually forgotten to prepare this post until quite late on Saturday night, and my brain is not wanting to cooperate.

Perhaps it’s just been my week, but what stood out to me when reading today’s scripture passages was Psalm 62.

Yes, my soul, find rest in God;
my hope comes from him.
Truly he is my rock and my salvation;
he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.
My salvation and my honor depend on God[c];
he is my mighty rock, my refuge.
Trust in him at all times, you people;
pour out your hearts to him,
for God is our refuge.

Other translations render the concept of “rest in God” as waiting on God, patiently and silently before Him, putting our hope in Him and trusting Him to take action on our behalf.

On this Sunday, this day of rest, I’d like to challenge each of us to consider these questions:

1)  What circumstances in my life am I stressing over that I need to turn over to God and find rest in Him?

2) Is what I consider resting actively waiting on God and anticipating Him to take action, or passively procrastinating what I need to do?

On my heart tonight…

About songstress7

Geek girl. Frustrated musician. Creative soul. Voracious reader. Aspiring writer. World champion level procrastinator. Saved by Grace. ~SDG~ View all posts by songstress7

Leave a Reply

