It’s not easy being green but okay to be blue

Today’s reading is James 4.

I’m standing in my kitchen the other day and I’m watching my 8 year old daughter and 5 year old son horsing around. They were exactly wrestling but not exactly playing. It was one of those times when they both had more energy than they knew how to control. Thus, in between jumping around someone would grab a couch cushion. WHAM! Small expressions of pain were given along with giggles from both kids.

Without warning my five year old got an extra burst of energy. He rain from the living room and through the dining. He gracefully jumped and twisted in the air to land facing the way in which he had come. He quickly caught eye of his sister jumping around with her back to him. The kid put on his booster engines and took off at full force. BAM! He had hit his sister’s feet out from underneath her and she proceded to lie flat on her back with tears welling up in her eyes.

As a parent you aren’t given a “user manual” but there are these times when you know there should be a daddy intervention. As I comfort my daughter my attention was put on my son who was laughing (albeit was a nervous and embarrassed laughter). I had to explain the obvious. If you hurt someone (even if by accident), you need to check on them and apologize. He had to understand what empathizing with the other person looked like in the situation.

In Jame 4 I was caught by verse 9. “Let there be tears for the wrong things you have done. Let there be sorrow and deep grief. Let there be sadness instead of laughter, and gloom instead of joy.” I wonder in today’s culture where in the adult world we are always trying to get the leading edge, trying to get the promotion, trying to get noticed that we don’t stop to think about what wrong we may have done. We are too concentrated on getting ahead by any means possible that we don’t stop to look at the integrity of the situation and think of how God would wont us to go about the situation.

Listen “feel good” society. It is okay and actually perfectly normal to feel sad when we have done wrong. It is okay to be embarrassed for a time. Gloom is not a horrible feeling but can be a wonderful teacher when channeled correctly.

I wonder for myself what I should be embarrassed about? I wonder if I need to wipe the smile off my face in some areas of my life and apologize. After all the best part about going through the sadness, is learning and finding that nothing can separate you from the love of Christ. Laughter will return through His grace.

About darren_fink

Dynamic Social Media Manager and Graphic Artist for @MyFanplicity - Adoptive Father of four - Avid fan of the Harry Potter book series Co-creator of Transfiguring Adoption: www.transfiguringadoption.com Twitter: @darren_fink LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/darrenfink View all posts by darren_fink

Leave a Reply

