You can’t hide the Fruit

Today’s reading: 2 Kings 19-21, Galatians 5

In the past couple of years my job has required me to travel quite often. One of the first things that I learned about flying is that I’m simply not proportioned for long flights. There is no place to put my legs and I keep bumping my head on monitors and other appurtenances. The second thing I learned is that most all the other passengers are in a hurry and everyone, I mean everyone, hates to be delayed. A few weeks ago I was passing through Dallas/Fort Worth and discovered that my connecting flight had been canceled. Apparently a serious storm had blown through the Dallas area and lots of flights we either delayed several hours or cancelled altogether. Most remaining flights had fifty or sixty people on the standby list and the local hotels were filling up fast. As I waited in line to speak with one of the gate attendants several of my displaced fellow passengers shared their stories. One young girl was trying desperately to get a flight to the east cost. Her grandfather was ill and she wanted to visit with him one last time before he passed. While we were talking, her dad called to tell her there was now no need for her to hurry. Another couple with two kids told me how many years they had been saving for their ‘dream vacation’ and now the first flight that they all could get booked on didn’t leave for three days. When it was apparent that there was not going to be enough seats and hundreds of stranded passengers would be spending the night in the airport tempers flared. While they didn’t cause the storm or create the delays the gate attendants did their best to endure as one passenger after another vented their frustration. I noticed that the attendant at the front of my line seemed to be holding up under the pressure. As I stepped up to the counter I quoted a portion of Galatians 5:22, “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness” and she looked up joining in and added, “ gentleness and self control!” It was obvious. Even though she found herself in the crucible of trial she demonstrated the fruits of the Spirit.

Don’t’ confuse the ‘fruits of the Spirit’ with the ‘gifts of the Spirit’ (1Corinthians 12). We are all gifted differently. Your spiritual gifts may not be the same as mine. But we are all to bear the fruits that attest to the fact that the Spirit of the living God dwells within us. So be careful, your fruits may be showing.

About Richard McGill

Hi, my name is Richard McGill and my family and I started attending CCC shortly after moving to the area eighteen years ago. Although eighteen years may sound like a long time it has past by so quickly. My wife, Sharon, and I have seen our four children grow and have twice experienced that bitter sweet day when we have loosened our grasp so that our children, could begin families of their own. Sharon and I have been more than rewarded for our sacrifices in that we again, on occasion, have in our home the squeals of laughter that only comes from innocence and youth. We revel in the titles that have been bestowed by sweet little voices and thrill to hear them say Papa and Memaw. In addition to our two married children we have two that are preparing for their future through education. Jenny is finishing her sophomore year at SIU and Alex will graduate from high school this spring. Throughout the past eighteen years I have been privileged to serve in several capacities at CCC. I have been a small group leader, greeter, usher, in the Easter production, on the worship team and have taught Sunday School. While I am honored to be asked to contribute to this most recent effort, I can’t help but wonder if they’re not still trying to find something that I am good at. View all posts by Richard McGill

One response to “You can’t hide the Fruit

Leave a Reply

