What’s Right In Your World?

The scripture readings for today are Psalms 133-135 and 1 Corinthians 3.

Praise the LORD! Praise the name of the LORD! Praise him, you who serve the LORD, you who serve in the house of the LORD, in the courts of the house of our God. Praise the LORD, for the LORD is good; celebrate his wonderful name with music. For the LORD has chosen Jacob for himself, Israel for his own special treasure. I know the greatness of the LORD — that our Lord is greater than any other god.

“What’s Right In The World?” This was the title of a Willow Creek Arts conference that I attended several years back. The speakers spent their time helping the thousands of artistic minded folks focus on the wonderful events happening in our world. As a society we tend to focus on the negative. We tend to go for the juicy controversy. We want to try and explain the unexplainable issues of life. However, we seldom just look at what is going right in the world and marvel at the mysteries that we can’t explain. There is nothing wrong with realizing that the grass that was mown last  week grew an inch and not having to comprehend how it scientifically was able to heal and grow. It’s okay to hear a cancer survivor story and simply be blown away by the amazing healing.

As I sit and type I must admit that there is quite a bit right in my world. I’ll brag on my wife. I have never seen a person that is so passionate about the fixing certain injustices. She shares part of the heart of God especially for orphans and people that have lost a parent. This amazing woman does whatever it takes to care for me and my children. Whether it’s preparing budget meals for the month, holding our children to Godly behavior, or educating herself on how to care for foster children, she excels at it all.

Another thing that I always marvel at from time to time is that I have a home. I don’t know why this blows me away. I remember being in college and wondering how I would ever be able to afford a house and pay the bills at the same time (boo student loans). God provided a very cheap home for my family. I have learned much from many individuals about home remodeling. Our two bedroom, one bathroom home has been transformed through sweat and labor into a nice six bedroom, two bathroom home. Like I said sometimes I sit in my bedroom or living room and just look around in awe that I live in my own home.

What about you? What is right in your world? What are the big or little things that you are in awe? What do you have to thank God for today?

About darren_fink

Dynamic Social Media Manager and Graphic Artist for @MyFanplicity - Adoptive Father of four - Avid fan of the Harry Potter book series Co-creator of Transfiguring Adoption: www.transfiguringadoption.com Twitter: @darren_fink LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/darrenfink View all posts by darren_fink

Leave a Reply

