Take a moment

Today’s reading: Psalm 147-148; 1 Corinthians 4.

I do these readings in the morning, when I am still waking up and getting ready for the day. It’s all too common for me to get distracted, cut time close to the wire, rush through my Bible reading and say a quick prayer before I go get breakfast and get ready to go to work. But I was struck by Psalm 147:1:

“Praise the Lord! For it is good to sing praises to our God, for He is gracious and lovely; praise is becoming and appropriate.” (Amplified)

Praise flowing from me to Him isn’t just good, it’s appropriate. It’s exactly what should be happening. I tend to forget how worthy God is of honor, and in the bustle of life I forget to give Him the devotion and adoration He is worthy of. This will be a short devotion today: take the next 5 minutes or so that you would ordinarily have spent reading this devotion, re-read Psalms 147 and 148, and concentrate on how incredible our God really is. If you’re musically-inclined, maybe sing a hymn or a song to Him. Do whatever you feel is appropriate when you consider our wonderful, incomparable God.

Leave a Reply

