Love is…

Today’s readings are from 1 chronicles 17-19 and 1 Corinthians 13.

4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Ive heard the above passage from 1 Corinthians 13 read at many weddings. A young bride and groom usually choose to have it read as they are public ally making a covenant before God and men. A covenant to love each other. Love. Other cultures have so many words for different kinds of love and yet English only contains one. I think it can be easy at a wedding or on a date to think of love as merely the physical attraction that we have for another person. Love could be made to simply be the chemistry between two passionate folks.

The 1 Corinthians passage paints a dynamic and powerful picture of our generic English word. There are so many actions and emotions that it encompasses. It trusts, protects, hopes, is patient, kind, selfless, honoring to others, delights in the truth, forgives and so on. Whoo. Just that list alone tells me that love involves work, discipline and practice.

I think of my friends and wonder if motives are always selfless with them. I think of my children and wonder if I’m always slow to anger. I think of my wife and wonder if I’m always honoring her. I think of Christ and am amazed. He IS love. It is by his example that we know to even use our love training wheels.

While I still consider love that is Christ the word perseverance hits me strongly. I have always been rebellious against Christ – I have and do always sin. Because Christ persevered through torture on a cross and rose again, in that one moment I find all of His love for me.

20120820-204320.jpg

About cccmurphysboro

Christ Community Church is a body of believers in Southern Illinois that is calling all people to experience God's power and walk in His holiness. View all posts by cccmurphysboro

Leave a Reply

