Worship for the Work Week: A Letter From God

Friday
Here is my paraphrase of Isaiah 1:10-20    A Letter From God.
     I saw you at church on Sunday.  I wasn’t impressed.  I’m frankly sick of your praise and worship.  You sing with your eyes closed as if I’m somehow moved by that.  The problem is that on Monday your eyes were also closed to the injustice all around you.  You raise your hands in worship but will not lift a hand to help your unemployed neighbor.  Am I supposed to be impressed with the fact that you tithe when you won’t give a dime to the genuinely needy people all around you?  I heard your long prayers on Sunday.  It’s time to do less talking and more doing.  The sermon you heard on Sunday wasn’t meant for you to store on a shelf.  You were meant to use that message during the week so you could come back hungry for more.  Work week worship is not about your Sunday acts of piety.  Treat the people in your office with respect.  Don’t participate in the racial jokes that happen on the job.  Do good to people when it is in your power to do so.  When you do those things, I will delight in your prayers and your worship and your offering.
    The good news is that if you are ready for a new start, I’m here to grant it.  I know you can’t change the past so start today.  I’ll give you a clean slate.  No need to bow down and blubber about it.  Just start living right today.  This work week worship is what makes Sundays great for me.  Thanks for listening.  Now get out there and help someone today.
About drphilipnordstrom

I am the Lead Pastor of Bethesda Christian Fellowship which is a dynamic growing congregation in Knoxville, Tennessee. I have an amazing wife, Melanie, two daughters, Natalie, and Kristiana, and a son, Noah. Nordstroms are passionate world changing Christ followers. We are educated with a Christian world view. We make godly decisions regarding friendships and marriage. We seek God's guidance for our life work and ministry. View all posts by drphilipnordstrom

One response to “Worship for the Work Week: A Letter From God

Leave a Reply

