LOOK FOR CLUES

 

Jeremiah 15-17; Colossians 2

Surely, I’ve said it hundreds of times.  You, no doubt, have too.  Just the other morning I was meeting with a young man who is looking for God’s will for his future. “Give me your wisdom”, he implored. “Give me a list of steps that I should take.”

I remember many decades ago sitting in that young man’s chair. I questioned and listened to my elders. I wanted a list of “how to’s.”  I looked for mentors.  I read books.  I prayed much for God’s leading in the lives of my family.

One of my early mentors gave me this advice, “Look for clues as to what God is doing, and follow them.”  It turned out to be some of the best advice I was ever given. It has been an axiom that I have used well.

The idea of being alert for clues infers that often God’s answers are not always obvious. I have learned that it is often the mysteries of God that prompt me to dig deeper, to listen more carefully, to see through eyes of faith.

Paul’s letter to the Colossians indicates that the church had begun to drift from its early moorings; trading away dependence on God for the convenience of legalistic rules.

“For I want you to know what a great conflict I have for you and those in Laodicea and for as many as have not seen my face in the flesh. That their hearts may be encouraged, being knit together in love, and attaining to all riches of the full assurance of understanding to the knowledge of the mystery of God, both of the Father and of Christ, in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.”

The farmer described in one of Jesus’ parables was plowing in a field like he had probably done many times before when he heard it.  His plow had hit something solid beneath the surface.  Rather than considering it a rock or some other obstruction, his curiosity was aroused to the point that he stopped plowing and dug beneath the surface to investigate. What he found was a treasure chest filled with priceless pearls. Quickly he returned it to the soil and went and bought the farm and claimed the treasure as his own. Jesus said that this story describes the Kingdom of God.

If you as a reader have followed Christ for a long time, you have discovered that coming to Christ was more than a single event. It has been a journey of discovery.

As one who has been a Christ follower for nearly sixty years, I still have an eye for clues as to the ways God is leading me. Even though there are many more years behind me than lie ahead, I still believe He has plans and I must watch for clues as to what He is wanting me to do.

So what might remain hidden for you? Are you aspiring to hear His voice, to know His will? Watch and listen for clues. He’ll show you the way to go.

About jnordstrom4864

I am the Director of Spiritual Care at Christ Community. I enjoy reading, travel, and family. I also find great satisfaction in walking with people through all of life's transitions. View all posts by jnordstrom4864

Leave a Reply

