Everything We Need

full toolbox

Today’s Reading: Ezekiel 35-36; 2 Peter 1.

My wife and I just recently bought our first house. Before now, we’ve always been renting wherever we’ve lived. It’s amazing the shift in perspective that comes when you’re responsible for your own house. Before we bought it, I was dreading having to be the one to take care of every leaky faucet and loose doorknob that came along. Now that we’re a few months into the process, though, I’m invested in the house, and it’s not a burden. I feel a sense of accomplishment about improving the house as I get things fixed up.

However, all this work is difficult because I live thousands of miles removed from my dad, a professional remodel carpenter. I can remember things he’s told me, and I can always call him up to get his advice, but what really hurts is not having the tools that were always available in his shop. All my current tools will fit in a small tackle box, and they’re often rather inadequate for the task at hand. I guess part of being a homeowner is purchasing all the tools required to fulfill the responsibilities inherent in the position.

Peter tells us, however, that when God gave us our new dwelling at salvation, it came with the tool shed already fully furnished!

2 Peter 1:3 “His divine power has given us everything required for life and godliness through the knowledge of Him who called us by His own glory and goodness.”

“Everything required”! To live a godly life, I don’t have to spend lots of money to go to conferences or go through programs. I don’t have to work hard to earn something, or to learn something that’s only available to a select few who devote decades of effort. I don’t have to climb a mountain and get wisdom from a aged guru. All the tools I need to keep my spiritual self in good repair are provided to me simply by knowing Christ. It’s not to say that effort won’t be involved in the repairs that have to be made: that’s what verses 5-8 are all about. There’s still a lot of work involved in fixing things. But I don’t have to start with an empty toolbox, desperately hoping that I can scrape by until I’m old enough in the Lord to acquire the tools necessary to change myself: I have them already, and I just need to get to work! As someone who still has plenty of work to do on himself, I find this very comforting.

Leave a Reply

