LAVISH LOVE

 

 

manger and cross

“How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God!  And that is what we are!  The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him.  Dear friends, now we are children of God and what we will be has not yet been made known.  But we know that when he appears, we shall be like him for we shall see him as he is.  Everyone who has this hope in him purifies himself just as he is pure”

 

Our church has been through a number of changes this year.  In January we decided to call this the Year of the Word.  A plan for reading the Bible through in one year was selected and a number of us chose to write a blog based on some portion of that day’s Bible reading.  My day each week was Monday and it has been my pleasure to comment on a portion of the daily reading that spoke to me.

 

Well, to be honest, it hasn’t always been a pleasure.  More than once my deadline approached and I had produced nothing.  A time or two, I even failed to accomplish the task.  Now it’s December and we are close to completing our year.  I must say that the exercise has been one of positive discipline.

 

Today’s text is from I John 3:1-3.  In characteristic manner the beloved Apostle John sets out to remind us who we really are.  While it is the devil’s business to erode our self- worth and to remind of us of our failures, the words of John reminds us that Grace has made us the objects of His love upon us.

 

One of the battles that I fought as a youngster was one of low self-esteem. I’m not sure of all the reasons for that, but it was hard to see myself as much more than average.  For me, finding Christ was a threshold into a whole new life. The church provided me with new brothers and sisters, and a positive climate of encouragement.

 

The Apostle John exults in the love that the Father has “lavished” upon us.  We are not asked to perform in any way to prove our worthiness.  When we believe the claims of Jesus and turn from our way to His, we cross a threshold of great security; security in this life and in the life to come.

 

As I have done these weekly blogs, I have observed how alike we all are.  We fight the same battles; we succumb to the same temptations; we exhibit the same pridefulness.

In I John 2, the writer comments on what it is like to live in human flesh.

 

I John 2:16, 17

“For every thing in the world—the cravings of sinful man, the lust of his eyes and the boasting of what he has and does comes not from the Father but from the world.  The world and its desires pass away, but the man who does the will of God lives forever.”

 

The greatest gift of my life is having found Jesus Christ at a young age.  The security that I once longed for was found in Him.  I have been saved from a defeated life.  The community of the Body of Christ has furnished me a family that has supported me through the years.

 

My wish for all who read this would be to join me in celebrating His coming into our world.  His life began in a manger and ended on a cross.  He has “lavished” his love upon us

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

 

 

About jnordstrom4864

I am the Director of Spiritual Care at Christ Community. I enjoy reading, travel, and family. I also find great satisfaction in walking with people through all of life's transitions. View all posts by jnordstrom4864

Leave a Reply

