You Ain’t Seen Nuttin’ Yet

Friday

“This is what the Lord Almighty says: ‘In a little while I will once more shake the heavens and the earth, the sea and the dry land. 7 I will shake all nations, and what is desired by all nations will come, and I will fill this house with glory,’ says the Lord Almighty. 8 ‘The silver is mine and the gold is mine,’ declares the Lord Almighty. 9 ‘The glory of this present house will be greater than the glory of the former house,’ says the Lord Almighty. ‘And in this place I will grant peace,’ declares the Lord Almighty.”

This has been an amazing day for me.  I have been talking to coaches and mentors about the future of our church and I am overwhelmed with a sense that it is just a matter of time until God will surpass all our hopes and dreams.  I can feel the excitement at my former church as they embrace their new pastor.  I am beaming with a real sense of having heard from the Lord as I think about the McNeely’s being in Southern Illinois.  Frankly, sometimes it has been a little difficult to hear of the joy and excitement, because most of the growth we are experiencing in Knoxville has been below the surface.  I have nothing to complain about.  The people are wonderful and I have been received with open arms.  There is a rumbling in my spirit, however that says the best is yet to come.

This passage in Haggai speaks to the way I’m feeling today.  He is speaking to a people who remember the magnificence of Solomon’s temple and dares to say that the glory of the future temple will be greater than the former.  What kind of building could be built that would outstrip the golden age of the monarchy when David and Solomon reigned.  What could be more glorious?  Notice that it’s not the amount of gold or silver that will make it more glorious.  The glory will come because “the desired of all nations” (as one translation puts it) will come.  Whatever the limitations of your facilities and finance, the glory of the Lord wants to transform our churches into a a house where His presence is manifested.  The Presence of God can make a simple surroundings into a spirit enlivened life-giving church.  This is my advent hope.  I am believing that for all of us, our best days can still be ahead of us.  As we approach the new year and new seasons in our lives and churches, we say with Moses, “Show me your glory”

About drphilipnordstrom

I am the Lead Pastor of Bethesda Christian Fellowship which is a dynamic growing congregation in Knoxville, Tennessee. I have an amazing wife, Melanie, two daughters, Natalie, and Kristiana, and a son, Noah. Nordstroms are passionate world changing Christ followers. We are educated with a Christian world view. We make godly decisions regarding friendships and marriage. We seek God's guidance for our life work and ministry. View all posts by drphilipnordstrom

One response to “You Ain’t Seen Nuttin’ Yet

Leave a Reply

